• South America globe map

South America

There are 12 independent countries and 3 dependent territories in South America. The largest country by area and the most populated is Brazil, it occupies about the 50% of the total mainland area and more than 52% of the population live on its territory. The smallest independent state is Suriname, it is the only nation in this region speaking Dutch as an official language.

As for travel, the most visited among the South American countries are Brazil, Argentina, Peru and Chile